Vintage Postage Stamp Necklace

9 Apr

title

I think I was about Ten years old when my grandmother gave me this stamp book collection. The details about where it came from are a bit hazy, I believe she got it from a woman that she worked for. It has captured my imagination for years. The date written on the inside is 1899, well over one hundred years ago and the name is a bit hard to read but the first name is Mary, and the last name is Larew. I wonder who she was? Did she have lots of pen-pals to collect these stamps? The book itself looks magical and mysterious to me. Inside there are stamps from all over the world, even from places that don’t even exist anymore: The Straits Settlement (a group of British territories in South East Asia), Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), Orange Free State (currently a part of South Africa), and more.

Several years ago I took my book and visited a Philatelist. I did not want to sell my book, but I did wonder what the value was (Side note: Does anyone else watch Pawn Stars and cringe when a person walks in and says “Yeah this was my great Grandpa’s prized possession, but I would like to go buy a steak dinner and do some gambling…” sheesh). As it turns out, Mary Larew did not attach them to the book correctly. Also most of the stamps are used and have some sort of post mark on them. In the eyes of the stamp collecting world they aren’t worth a whole lot, but they are still my prize. For the last 23 years my stamp book has moved from college, to apartments, to houses, everywhere with me, but I have to say that it mostly sits inside a drawer and I don’t see it a whole lot. Sadly the book just keeps getting older and in worse shape. More stamps fall out all the time, you can see in the picture all of the little white tabs where stamps used to be attached. Recently I had been thinking about ways that I could display some of the beautiful stamps in the collection and preserve them better. I came across this tutorial on Happy Hour Projects: Glass Map Necklaces. Jewelry would be the perfect way to display these stamps, they also make a beautiful keepsake.

stampCollage

I created my necklace very similar to the Glass Map Necklace on Happy Hour Projects, so go and read her tutorial, it is very quick, and I will then tell you what I did differently.

necklace 1 The only real difference was the contents of the necklace. Instead of using a map clipping, I used a grey chevron fabric. I traced around the glass cabochon and then cut on the inside of the line that I had traced. At this time it would be a good idea just to make sure that your fabric circle fits properly inside of the bezel. Next brush the top of your fabric circle in Mod Podge. Pick out your beautiful postage stamp and place it on the fabric where you would like it to go. You can center it or have it offset, both would look great. Apply some more Mod Podge to the top of your stamp and follow the rest of Adrianne’s instructions to assemble your necklace.

Let’s talk about the supplies for a moment. It is very easy to find these glass necklace sets on Etsy. Have a look around, I like to click on the category “Craft Supplies” on the left hand side before starting my search. There are also lots of other types of jewelry supplies that would look beautiful using this tutorial: Keychains, Rings, Cuff Links, Earrings, Bobby Pins, and different types of necklace pendants: Here is an antique looking key pendant that looks gorgeous: Antique Keys Vintage Glass Pendant Charm. As for stamps again you can find a boat load of them on Etsy! If you do have a local stamp collecting shop you can usually find large packets of used stamps there for a fairly low cost. I found that brightly colored stamps with less postmarks do look the best. Plus the glass cabochon magnifies them, so something with a nice picture looks good too.

Here are a couple of the necklaces I made:

U.S Postal 2 Cent Washington Stamp:

pic1

I love this one from the Republic of Austria, I believe the stamp is from the mid 1800’s:

pic4

Thank you again for stopping by, I hope you have enjoyed this post!

pic3

signature

14 Responses to “Vintage Postage Stamp Necklace”

  1. Happy Hour Projects (@HappyHrProjects) April 9, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Lisa – I LOVE the way these turned out, they are beautiful! What a wonderful idea!

    (And yes, I think that all the time, we watch a lot of pawn stars, LOL.)

    • sweetlisak April 9, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      Ha ha, thanks – I was just typing you a “thank you” e-mail when I got the notification about this comment. So thank you for letting me post a link to your tutorial, and for the glass necklace sets!!

  2. nancy April 9, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    I love this idea and would totally wear this as jewelry. Really cool!

  3. freshjuniper April 9, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Very lovely necklace. Thanks for posting. New follower here.

  4. Jen @ Girl in the Garage April 9, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    That is so cool Lisa! I love the idea of displaying vintage stamps in a pretty way. I actually think I might have some somewhere… 🙂

  5. Bethany Lee (@PitterAndGlink) April 9, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I love these! You did an awesome job! Thanks for stopping by my blog a while back and commenting. 🙂

  6. JESS44903 April 10, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    What a cute idea!

    Thanks for sharing at the Link Up this week!

  7. Mardi Robyn April 14, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Such a neat idea!

  8. Diana Rambles April 18, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Very cool Lisa! Thanks for sharing this at my Pin Me Party!

  9. Kim S. April 19, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    So neat! I would never think to do this with stamps! I would love for you to link up at my Pinterest Party: http://www.mylifeaccordingtopinterest.com/2013/04/pinterest-party-springtime-fun_18.html

  10. lindanortje May 8, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Your necklace is on feature today !

    http://withablast.blogspot.com/2013/05/all-my-bloggy-friends-special-mothers.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vintage Postage Stamp Necklace Tutorial · Jewelry Making | CraftGossip.com - April 14, 2013

    […] I enjoy visiting Antique Malls, & Thrift Stores, sometimes more than I enjoy going to a regular mall. On most visits I will see bags of stamps and wonder what I could do with them if I purchased a bag, not coming up with any ideas I leave them sitting where they are.  Lisa Kraiger recently sent in a link to her tutorial on making necklaces out of vintage postage stamps, I now know what I will be doing next time I go to our local antique store!  Lisa describes her tutorial as “..an easy tutorial for making glass necklaces from vintage postage stamps. It is a beautiful way to display and preserve a little piece of history.”  How cool would it be to wear a vintage stamp around your neck!  Check out her tutorial and read the history behind her stamp collection, and learn how she made these lovely “Vintage Postage Stamp Necklace.” […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

