Sweet Easter Mantle

24 Mar

Easter Mantle

We finally got around to making some Easter decorations!  Here is a picture of our decorated mantle.  Yes my Benjamin had to get in the picture.  When he gets that gleam in his eye there is no stopping him, he loves to be in pictures.  But who can really complain when he is completely adorable?

Anyways, we did make a few things which I wanted to share with you.  There are some eggs, some bunnies, and some Jesus = perfect Easter combination.

yarn eggs1

Yarn Easter Eggs:  Ben and I had so much fun making these!  We found a great tutorial on one of my favorite blogs, Happy Hour Projects.  It was pretty messy, but Ben loved all of the glue and goop, plus we got to spend some quality time together while the little brother and sister were napping.  We used multi-colored yarn instead of one color per egg.  Mine were a little more uniform than Ben’s, I think they turned out quite well!

bunny

Chevron Bunny: We made a little bunny decoration too.  I’m not sure exactly how I feel about him though, I think maybe the background was a bit too busy… First we mod-podged some grey tonal chevron fabric to a dollar store canvas.  Next we cut out the bunny shape from some medium grape chevron and glued it on with Mod Podge.  We added a pom pom to the tail for some texture and 3D effect.  Have I mentioned that my 3 year old, Sam, has a deep love for pom poms?  This was mostly for him.  Then I decided that bunny was too plain and added some ribbons and little triangles of rainbow cotton dots to make a little banner.  All of the fabric is from Riley Blake Designs.

verse

Free Printable Casting Crown Lyrics:  I made this printable and it is my favorite part of the mantle decorations!  You can print it, trim off the white border, and it fits inside of an 8×10 frame.

EASTERprintable

salt dough

Salt Dough Easter Egg & Bunny garland:  We actually made this last year.  We found the idea on Pinterest, the original recipe and tutorial is from Desperate Craftwives: Salt Dough Easter Egg Garland.  I decided to add some bunnies to ours as well, my children had a blast making this, they love painting projects.

And that is it for the decor!  I also wanted to show you this un-traditional Easter dress that I made for my sweet little niece.  I followed a pattern from Violette Field Threads – The Chloe Dress Pattern.  Have you ever heard of them?  They have gorgeous patterns!!!  There are several more that I want to make, but I can’t decide which one to make next!  Anyways, the dress I made had three layers of tulle.  I did a pink layer on top, a white layer in the middle, and a blue layer underneath.  I call it the cotton candy dress, I think she will love it!  It was really hard for me to get a great picture of it.  The dress looks much nicer when worn, but my niece lives far away and my husband has begged me not to put dresses on the boys anymore 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you have enjoyed this post, thanks for stopping by!

signature

This post has been linked up to the following parties:

PJH Designs



6 Responses to “Sweet Easter Mantle”

  1. Tara March 24, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    Awe I love seeing Ben dressed up in dresses!! lol Love all the decorations too!! Think I’ll try some and love the lyrics idea!! That’s so cool!!!!!

  2. Danni@SiloHillFarm March 25, 2013 at 5:09 am #

    It’s all fabulous and your son is absolutely adorable! I missed those eggs over at Happy Hour Projects, but they look like a fun project!

  3. Happy Hour Projects (@HappyHrProjects) March 25, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    Awww, so sweet! Looks great, Lisa!!

  4. Jody March 25, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I attempted the yarn eggs a week ago. Huge FAIL! We popped the ballons and the eggs deflated with the balloon 😦 Although we tried huge balloons and maybe not enough yarn? Might try again with your directions.

    • sweetlisak March 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      Oh no! I would definitely say more yarn is needed and let them dry over night. One of Ben’s eggs did that and he hadn’t used as much yarn on it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello April! | Sweet Benanna&Sam - April 1, 2013

    […] though it was Disney Fun Month, I still could not forget about Easter!  Here is my Sweet Easter Mantle with some DIY decor ideas plus a free […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!