~Disney Birthdays: Brave

21 Mar

Keeping with the Birthday theme this week, I have another special guest sharing a great party! Jocie from One Project Closer’s The Better Half  is going to share a couple of posts on Sweet Benanna & Sam. Today she is sharing her Brave birthday party post. I honestly can’t pick my favorite part of this party, I love so much about it. Thank you Jocie for guest posting today (and tomorrow!)…make sure you all come back and see what she has in store tomorrow because I’m not going to ruin the surprise!
Thanks so much for having me here, Lisal! I’m Jocie (pronounced Jah-see) from OPC’s The Better Half. Here’s my fam – me, Lucy, Izzie, and Ethan (the hubs).

Jocie @ OPC The Better Half

If you haven’t heard of us, One Project Closer (OPC) is a site for the serious DIY lover. Ethan shadows professional contractors on actual job sites to give our readers the best and most detailed project guides available, all for free.

The Better Half is just like it sounds – better! Just kidding…but not really. lol! I seriously love crafts and decor-oriented DIY – some of my favorites include my first video on Pallets: 101 – how to deconstruct pallets and my daughter’s Lucy’s new big girl bed redesign using chalk paint. Kim, the other Better Half, works 24/7 to provide up-date home improvement savings like this coupon for Home Depot!

Brave Birthday Party

Our girls, Izzie and Lucy are almost exactly 2 years apart in age – Izzie was born on February 11th and Lucy on January 24th. Izzie, now 4-years-old is very very into Brave and Merida. Everywhere we go, she loves to tell people that she looks just like Merida, with her blue eyes and red, curly hair. So it was no surprise when she asked to have a Brave birthday party this year.

Brave Birthday - OPC The Better Half

Brave Party Invitation

Ethan, the hubs, made this fabulous invite using Photoshop and to make life a little easier, I emailed to all the moms.

Brave Invitation- OPC The Better Half

The Decorations

I got a Silhouette Cameo for Christmas and was excited to make a banner for the party! My favorite part of the Brave banner was the little black accents I added to each letter – the three baby bear cubs, bear paws, and a bow & arrow. ❤ I found pictures of the brother bears on Google images and traced them with the Silhouette in order to have solid bear cut-outs.

Brave Banner - OPC The Better Half

After I finished decorating, I felt like I needed more Merida, the girl herself, so I grabbed an extra paper plate, cut it out, and added some scrapbook paper! Turned out really cute. Izzie still keeps her in her room, just because she loves Merida!

OPC The Better Half

The Food

For me, food is always a big part of building the theme and decor of a party. Everyone loves cupcakes, and I find them way easier to decorate, so cupcakes is what we had…with a plastic Merida on top!

Brave Cupcakes - OPC The Better Half

Here is the birthday girl, in her Merida attire, getting ready to blow out the candles!

857182_10151705051544942_948269640_o

I then made the cookies that are in the Brave movie using a sugar cookie recipe from the Novice Chef. Instead of the given icing recipe, I used canned icing warmed in the microwave for 30 seconds. For the cherry on top, I used Sour Cherries from the candy isle at Walmart.

Brave Cookies - OPC The Better Half

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches cut into the shapes of Bears.

OPC The Better Half

Chocolate Teddy Grahams – again a little brother bear love!

OPC The Better Half

And here it all is together!

DSC_0284

Brave Party - OPC The Better Half

Party Favors

The party favors were the most time-consuming element but were the hit of the party.

Ethan made a bunch of bows using a Bow and Arrow tutorial from Skip to My Lou as an initial guide. We used thinner PVC to help the bow have a little more bend and cut the PVC to 2.5 feet, since these were for little kids. Once cut, I wrapped them in pretty duct tape (cheapest at Walmart). Ethan added nylon string and pipe insulation for the handle.

Brave Bow and Arrows - OPC The Better Half

Finally, I finished it off with some beads and black vinyl.

OPC The Better Half

The arrows were made using wood dowels, felt and hot glue. We also used a thin file to create a groove in the back of the arrow to hold it to the bow.

OPC The Better Half

Not to overlook any detail, I made a few quick targets in efforts to keep the arrows not being shot at children or windows.

Target and Arrows - OPC The Better Half

Brave Party - OPC The Better Half

Izzie did a little target practice in the basement before her friends arrived for the party. Watch out boys – she’s a pretty good shot! Maybe we should keep her practicing through high school.

Brave Party - OPC The Better Half

Izzie really wanted her little sister, Lucy to be a bear for the party (like Merida’s little brothers), so I wanted to come up with a cheap solution for Lucy and the other little siblings coming to the party. Fortunately, I found a cheap bear mask template in the online Silhouette store and printed out a bunch in different colors, adding some elastic to the sides.

DSC_0209

I had a really hard time getting Lucy to let me take her picture, but take my word for it, she was a cutie!

OPC The Better Half

Once Izzie and her BFF, Lily saw the little kids wearing the masks, they grabbed some and joined it. Who says Merida can’t fight bears and be a bear at the same time?! lol.

OPC The Better Half

What do you think? What other great Brave party ideas do you have?

For more fun projects, parties, and crafts, visit Jocie at The Better Half! You can also connect with her on Facebook and Pinterest. Hope to see you soon!


Jocie Hagan, Editor of OPC The Better Half

4 Responses to “~Disney Birthdays: Brave”

  1. Danni@SiloHillFarm March 21, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    What a fun post! Love Jocie and her blog! She has a great link party too! What an awesome party and what kid wouldn’ t want to play with a cute bow and arrow set??!!

    • jocieopc March 21, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Thanks so much Danni – Love you and your blog too!!!!

  2. jocieopc March 21, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Thanks so much for letting me guest post and for your sweet words!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello April! | Sweet Benanna&Sam - April 1, 2013

    […] from One Project Closers: The Better Half shared her daughters Brave Party and Tangled Party, they were so amazing – both of […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

