~The Donald Duck DISASTER~

13 Mar

title

It is so hard to find great sewing projects for boys.  I think mainly because it is tons of fun sewing cute frilly stuff for girls.  Sometimes I feel like my boys are being left out, and I really wanted to create something fun for them.  Fast forward to the Donald Duck Disaster.  I thought it would be adorable if they boarded our Disney Cruise wearing Donald Duck inspired sailor shirts, and some white shorts to match.  They did not turn out well.  I guess all of my ideas can’t be genius.  I still maintain that it was a good idea, just poorly executed.

I am so used to sewing for girls that my pattern was much too girly.  The front part of the shirt dipped down much too low, exposing too much of their hairless chests.  They did not enjoy this.  Plus, I had some nice scrap red satin of very good quality that I used for the bows.  Usually good quality means better but the bows ended up being so thick that they were heavy and difficult to attach to the top of the shirt.  Oh man.  I could totally re-do it, I had photographed everything so that I could prepare a nice sewing tutorial but I am not.  I just don’t want to have anything more to do with this nightmare.  At least I found the fabric in the bargain section, it was some sort of polyester blend, so I didn’t spend a lot!

DD suit

Well, if you would like to still attempt a project like this, you are more than welcome~ you will have to draft your own pattern because I am not going to modify mine at this point and time.  You will need to draft a pattern with a back piece, two front pieces, a button placket to run down the centre, two sleeves, and of course the sailor collar.  You will also need some strips of yellow fabric for the arm bands, the collar border and the button placket. Here are some pictures I took of my sewing project:

sewing

And that is about the long and short of it, let us never speak of this project again!  If anything, maybe it will give you some ideas on how not to draft a pattern for a boy.

Thank you for stopping by!

signature

9 Responses to “~The Donald Duck DISASTER~”

  1. Debra March 13, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    I think it was an excellent idea. I hate it when projects don’t go the way I wanted them to in my head. So excited for you on your cruise. I have never been on one. It is on the bucket list!

  2. Tracey March 14, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    I agree that it is a good idea and they really did not come out too bad. I have had a bunch of projects not quite go as planned and it can be very disappointing but I really like the idea of the Donald shirt! Thanks so much for sharing with us on We Made That!

  3. Happy Hour Projects (@HappyHrProjects) March 14, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I don’t think these turned out too bad! But I definitely enjoyed the laugh, and I can totally understand that it’s frustrating when our vision doesn’t come to life like we intended. 🙂 I’m so glad you shared, I love posts that keep it real. 😉

  4. Laurie @ Simply Creating Home March 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    It’s so sad when the projects we’ve put so much time into don’t turn out quite the way we intended. I think your Donald Duck shirts are darling. Thanks so much for a bit of a tutorial on what not to do for boys and also the chuckle. The cute pictures and hairless chest comment got me! It made for a great post, but I’m sorry for your frustration. ♥

  5. Hayleigh @ after-the-vows March 14, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    They may not have turned out well, but they still look cute!

  6. Peggy Hale March 18, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    Lisa I think this was a wonderful idea and they didn’t look bad at all. Your boys are adorable! Thanks for joining us this week at Transformed Tuesday.

    Hugs,
    Peggy~PJH Designs

  7. lovelymrsp March 20, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    These aren’t so bad…just add a white tee under them. Your models are too cute! I would post it anyway. Good idea for a Halloween Costume. Someone is going to search for it! A Donald Duck costume is something you don’t see very often. Pinterest it! Thanks for linking up last week on Made in a Day!
    Kim

  8. jocieopc March 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    hahahaha you are cracking me up, Lisa! What? you don’t like the boy cleavage?! lol. 🙂 great sewing though!

I love to hear your sweet comments!

