Cross My Heart {Hair Clippie} Tutorial

21 Jan

titleimage

Creating hair clips for special little girls is such a fun and quick craft project!  I recently spied some woven heart ribbon hair clips on Etsy, and I immediately searched for a tutorial on how to make them.  I didn’t find one. Then I remembered that I consider myself to be a pretty crafty lady and I figured out how to do it on my own.

It is actually a very easy project.  I have three variations of this heart, we will start with this red one.pic1

5/8″ Grosgrain ribbon

Ribbon covered alligator clip

Glue Gun

Something to heat seal the ribbon: Lighter, wood burning tool (I like to use my BBQ lighting thing)

Cut two pieces of grosgrain ribbon to 4″ long.  Heat seal the ends of your ribbon.  I will do the next few steps in pictures!

pic3

pic4

pic5

pic6

Now all you have to do is put some hot glue on the back of your heart and attach it to your ribbon-lined hair clippie.  Very easy!  Here are some variations with different size ribbon:

pic7pic8pic9

 

Here is a mini clippie.  With this one I used 3/8″ ribbon and cut the pieces to 3″ long.pic10

 

Are you doing any special projects for Valentine’s day?  I think I am going to make a few of these clips for myself as well!  I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, thank you for reading!

~Lisa K

 

10 Responses to “Cross My Heart {Hair Clippie} Tutorial”

  1. Noreen January 22, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Great creative way to use the ribbon to make a heart! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Christi January 24, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    This looks so cute and easy! I will have to try for my little girls! I just liked you on facebook!
    Christi

  3. Diana Rambles January 25, 2013 at 3:36 am #

    Super cute! I pinned this. I would love you to come join my Pin Me Linky Party that starts Friday morning at 8am CST. I allow up to 3 links each week! I am following via Facebook & Pinterest!

    • Diana Rambles January 27, 2013 at 3:30 am #

      Thanks for linking up!

  4. The Stepford Wife January 25, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Wow, so simple, but so great! Thanks for shaing the idea, I definitely gonna try this one! May even add some felt.

    Found you via linky part “Pinme” at Diana Rambles

  5. jocieopc January 25, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Super cute, Lisa! I have a bow making addiction and this is not helping! 🙂

  6. ChiWei February 1, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    These are so adorable! Thanks for sharing them at my party!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 14 LOVE-ly Hair Accessories « Sweet Benanna&Sam - January 21, 2013

    […] 14. And last but not least, my very own creation the Cross My Heart Hair Clip tutorial… […]

  2. January was not my favorite month. « Sweet Benanna&Sam - February 4, 2013

    […] Buffalo Chicken Dip.  I also posted a cute Valentine’s hair accessory that I made for Anna: Cross My Heart {Hair Clippie} Tutorial and I did a round up of some of the other wonderful love-inspired hair accessories from around the […]

  3. Hair Accessory Fun ~ For Your Next Disney Vacation | Sweet Benanna&Sam - March 18, 2013

    […] Here is a different one I did for a Valentine post in February: Cross My Heart Hair Clippie […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

