Happy New Year! ~ The Best of 2012~

1 Jan

new year

Happy New Year to all of my readers, and thank you for taking time out of your busy lives to read my blog!  I thought I would wrap up 2012 by sharing my favorite posts and most popular post.  I would also like to do a little recap of 2012 and I am going to share with you some insight into my future blogging plans.

referrals

First of all, I would like to extend a BIG thank you to Sweet Benanna & Sam’s top blog referrers of 2012: The Girl Who Ate Everything, Happy Hour Projects, Create Craft Love, and Whipperberry.

The most traffic to my website, though, actually came from one single pin on Pinterest.  It went a little viral.  This one pin has (so far!) been re-pinned 317 times, plus each of those re-pins have been re-pinned (and so on!) Thank you to Pinterest user Something Swanky for pinning my post “Easy Sew Double Sided Headbands”.  I should also mention that this pinner has her own blog, Something Swanky.  This blog is fantastic, and one that I am very happy to be subscribed to.  She used to host a fabulous link party on Saturday’s, and I was very proud to have one of my projects featured there in November!  At the moment she has decided to discontinue her Saturday link party to focus on other areas of her blog.  Although I was a little sad to find this out, I completely understand – one of the great things about having your own blog is the freedom to write about whatever you like!

most viewed

Here are my top five posts of 2012:

5. Sweet Little Red: Halloween Sewing Tutorial and Free Pattern  

4. Howl At The Moon: Easy and Inexpensive DIY Wolf Mask and Vest

3. Easy Sew Double Sided Headbands

2. Free Printable ~ Blank Lego Minifigure

And my number one most viewed post:

SWEET DOLLY HUGS FABRIC TOTE BAG!

I have to admit that I probably have Riley Blake Designs to thank for making Sweet Dolly hugs my number one post.  They loved it and posted a link to it on their Facebook page for their 30,000 + fans to see.

I think that my favorite post though would have to be Sweet Little Red.  This was my first HUGE free pattern and sewing tutorial.  It also won a Halloween sewing contest!

title1titlepicturewithTitle imagedollyhugsbaglego header

I have definitely learned a lot since I started my blog.  I look back on some of my first posts and I can see how far I have come.

I do enjoy my blog, but I have to realize that this is my hobby.  I have lots of great projects planned for the New Year, but there are a couple of things that I need to put ahead of my blogging!

My children are growing so quickly.  I was watching this video last night.  It was filmed only 20 short months ago, but my boys are already so much older than this!  In the video my older son, Ben, says at the end, “you clap too please?”  It reminded me that I need to be present with my children, involved in their activities and play.  I don’t want to miss out on such a precious time with them, I will never get it back!

The second thing I am trying to focus on is growing my travel business.  Blogging is an awesome hobby, and I get lots of free crafting supplies for doing it – but crafting supplies do not help pay the bills!!  My travel business is my bread and butter, and I do actually enjoy it as well.  Here is a link to my travel website.

I am not trying to say that my blog will fall by the wayside, I actually have a couple of ideas to incorporate travel into my craft blog….you will have to keep reading in the coming months to see what I have planned exactly…but there will be some great giveaways and crafting projects ahead!

Again I want to thank you for reading!

~Lisa K

One Response to “Happy New Year! ~ The Best of 2012~”

  1. Ashton @ Something Swanky January 1, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    Yay! Thanks for the link love! Sorry to discontinue the party 😦 Just one of those things, you know? But thanks for still liking me :

I love to hear your sweet comments!

