Day 13 ~ Boo-Boo Bunny

27 Nov

Hello!  Today I would like to introduce you to Boo-Boo Bunny (with a free pattern!).  He is a rice-filled hot/cold pack.  If your children are anything like mine they hurt themselves, a lot!  Especially my two year old, Sam.  He lives life hard and he has had more goose-eggs than I can count.  It seems, though, that whenever I come at them with a cold pack or some frozen peas, the crying gets worse; they don’t like it!  This is why I created Boo-Boo bunny.  He is friendly and cute,  the children don’t mind putting him on their wounds!  There are plenty of other uses for him too.  Heat him in the microwave (25-30 seconds in my microwave is perfect)  Stick him in winter boots in the morning to get them toasty warm, or even in their gloves!  He is the perfect size to fit in the crook of your back.  If you make a bigger one, the design of this bunny is ideal to drape around your neck.  Make a bunch of them, heat them up and stick them in your blankets at the foot of your bed, great feet warmers! (in case you can’t tell, I live somewhere really cold!)  Or for my 13 month old who refuses to wear gloves, I heat up bunny, and let her play with him in the car.  Plus they just love to play with him as a toy.  He is the right size to fit inside a Christmas stocking, and would make a wonderful gift for a child, or for an adult with aches and pains, or bad circulation.  So without further ado, I bring you Boo-Boo Bunny.

Supplies:

Click here for pattern: Boo-Boo Bunny

Scrap fabric (I used Riley Blake Small Chevron tone-on-tone in Aqua and Grey)

Small piece of double sided fusible interfacing

Scrap of felt in two colours; one for the face and one for the heart (I used yellow and hot pink)

Embroidery Floss

Rice (about 1 1/2 cups)

Sewing Machine and basic sewing supplies

All seams are sewn at 1/4″

First you will cut all of your pieces.  From your fabric you will need four arm pieces (2 opposites) 4 leg pieces (2 opposites) 4 ears (2 opposites), 2 body pieces.  You can use all of the same fabric, I chose to use two coordinating fabrics and have the appendages different from the body.  You will also need one face cut from felt, and the same size piece from your double sided fusible interfacing, and one felt heart, and also a heart from the double sided fusible interfacing.

Next you are going to take the piece of felt that you cut for your face, and some embroidery floss.  Embroider whatever kind of face you would like.  I used two strands of floss and did a back stitch for the nose and mouth part.  Then I used 3 strands and did a cross stitch for the eyes.

Take your face, heart,  your interfacing pieces, and one body piece to your ironing board.  Sandwich the fusible interfacing between your felt and the right side of the body piece, make sure they are positioned where you want them to go.  Press them into place.  Now zig-zag stitch around the face and the heart to keep them in place.  You could also use a more decorative stitch if you wish.  Here is a different one that I did:

We are now going to get all of the limbs sewn up!  Take two of your leg pieces.  Place them right sides together, sew all around the leg but leave the bottom, short straight edge open.  Repeat this step for all of the appendages (legs, arms, ears) then turn right side out and iron.  You are going to fill each one with rice, to about 1/2″ from the top.  Once you have done this, sew the top edge shut.  There should still be a little bit of space below your stitching with no rice in it~ if not you have filled it too full.  Do this step for all of the limbs.

Now we need to attach the limbs and sew the body together.  I am going to explain the steps and show you a series of pictures to make it easier.  The little x marks that I have put on the body pattern show you where to attach your limbs.  A good idea is to lay your front body piece (the one with the face and heart)  on top of that pattern.  Put one of your limbs (let’s say an ear) where you want it to go, and then flip it down so that the raw side is at the top of the bunny’s head.  It should stick out just slightly.  Now place the other body piece, right side facing down, and sandwich the ear inside.  Put a pin through all three layers.  Now flip that body piece up and place your next limb where it should go.  Use the same method and go all around the body, securing the limbs into place.

You should now have your body pieces pinned, right sides together, with all of the limbs enclosed inside.  Sew all around the body, leave a space about 2″ open so that you can turn it right side out.  I found that the best spot to leave open is between one of the arms and leg.  Remember to backstitch at the beginning and end so that your stitches don’t come undone when you are turning it right side out.  You should now have something that looks like this.  Turn your bunny right side out.  Fill his body with rice, I think I used about 1- 1 1/2 cups of rice to fill him up.

Use a ladder stitch to close up the hole ~ and he is all done!

Play around with your microwave times to see how long it takes to heat him up ~ you don’t want to overheat it.  I suggest starting with 20 seconds.  When I was doing this my husband said to me, “Be careful, you don’t know if the fabric is strong enough to survive the microwave.”  My response, “Honey, this is Riley Blake quilting cotton, I assure you there will not be a problem.” And he says (as if he knows) “Oh yeah, the Riley fabric.” PSSHH like he has any idea what I’m talking about!  Husbands are so cute.

I hope you have enjoyed this handmade gift idea, we are nearing the end but tomorrow I have a guest blogger that I am very excited about.  I have pinned so many of her amazing recipes ~ Christy from “The Girl Who Ate Everything”  So don’t forget to visit tomorrow to see what she has cooked up for us!

Thanks for stopping by,

~Lisa K

I love to hear your sweet comments!

