Day 12 ~ Good Mom Sign

26 Nov
Today I have another wonderful guest blogger ~ Barbara from Chase the Star.  She brings us a beautiful DIY wood sign.  This would be a great gift for any mom, I know I would like to have one!
Our Ad sponsor today is Wholesale Flowers Ribbons & Buttons, they have lots of great stuff for your crafting needs, and they will be participating in our giveaway on November 30th!
Welcome to Wholesale Flowers Ribbons & Buttons. We specialize in all things crafty and love to hear from our customers for items you would like us to carry.  We are currently shipping 5 days per week. We will do our very best to get your order out within 24 hours.  We offer wholesale prices to everyone!  Please visit us on Etsy here: Wholesale Flowers
Or on Facebook here: Wholesale Flowers Facebook
 
Hello Sweet Benanna & Sam readers! 
 
My name is Barbara and I blog over at Chase the Star!  I’m thrilled to be a guest here today, so grateful to Lisa for the invite!  
 
Chase the Star is all about crafting, furniture restoration, recipes, and more.  I try my best to share inexpensive and easy to make projects and DIY updates!
 
Today, I’m sharing one of my DIY signs with you..
 
A couple of weeks after moving in to my house, while clearing the garage out I came across this 28×11 piece of plywood.  This was a ‘goodie’ because as a crafter I could always use scrap wood, it saved me a couple bucks, and a trip to the HD.  Win, win, WIN!
 
   
 I immediately thought about this awesome sign I had pinned for ‘later’:
Source
So  using it as my inspiration piece, I decided to attempt my own version!  I used what I had on hand, which I do quite a bit 🙂 
 
I got started painting the plywood with black chalkboard paint.  Yes, chalkboard paint because it dries fast, and usually doesn’t require primer.  And I have no patience.
 
The only stencils I had in my stash were 2″ thick block letters, so I had to scale back the wording a bit.  I got rid of the ‘laundry piles’ piece because honestly I didn’t want anything around to remind me I need to catch up on laundry!  O.k., also it wasn’t kitchen related and that’s where this sign was to live.
 
Of course this was my pre-blog days so I didn’t take pictures of the process.  Go ahead and yell at me!
 
Once the paint was dry I created the wording with the stencils and taped them on to the board with painter’s tape.  Using a foam brush, I dabbed white paint on the stencils.  I had to go back and add a couple more coats of the white since I was going over black.
 
Once it was all completely dry (overnight), I went crazy with the sandpaper from top to bottom.  I really wanted it to look like a piece that’s had a really hard life.  
 
I added a saw tooth hanger on the back, by simply nailing it into place with the teeny nails they come with. 
 
Messy isn’t it?  The backs of most of my projects look like that or worse.  Who cares?  It’s against the wall (wink)! 
 
To give it an aged look and to seal it, I added a coat of wood stain with a sealer built in.  
 
People always have a chuckle when they read this in my kitchen!  
 
Have you put your own twist on something you’ve seen in the blogosphere?  
 
Thanks again to Lisa for having me here today! 
 
I’d love to see you guys over at my place!  
 

Please stop by and say ‘hello’, and find me here too:                      


Linking Up:

  

 

One Response to “Day 12 ~ Good Mom Sign”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Crafty Christmas Giveaway! « Sweet Benanna&Sam - November 30, 2012

    […] Casserole Dish from Create Craft Love, Candy Cane Popcorn from The Girl Who Ate Everything, Good Mom Sign from Chase The Star, Ballerina Barrette Holder from One Project Closer’s:The Better Half, […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

