Day 10~ Dry Mix Pizza Dough

24 Nov

Today I would like to share a dry mix recipe for pizza dough (and a free gift tag printable!).  This is a great gift for a busy family who doesn’t have a lot of time to spend on making dinner!

We have had a lot going on in our lives in the past couple of days, so this will be a rather short blog post, but worthy to be read nonetheless!  I will not have an ad sponsor today, but for good reason.  A friend of mine recently shared some horrible news with me.  I can not go into specific details as I would like to protect her family, but they have had an extremely difficult year.  They have a beautiful family with young children, and I would really like to help them out this Christmas.  I am making a bunch of Christmas things to sell, and donating 100% of the proceeds to this family (I will not even keep anything for the cost of making the item)  Yesterday I made some really cute Christmas hair bows, and they sold out immediately!  Today I have posted some reversible Christmas oxford hats for children.  If you would like to take a look, they are posted on my facebook page.  I have created a photo album entitled: Compassion Project (that was the link)

Alright, now on to this nice little gift idea!

Home made pizza is a family favorite in our house!  A little more than a year ago, I went to one of those Pampered Chef parties.  If you have never been to one, you usually make a recipe so that you can test the products first hand.  At this particular party, we made a pizza ~ and it tasted so good!

Over the past year I have adapted the pizza crust recipe to our taste.  I have added some herbs and spices, and a bit more flour, which I found gave the dough a better consistency (and a great taste!).  Now I am making it into a Christmas gift to share with some friends!  What I have done is doubled the recipe and presented it in a mason jar.  It will yield two large pizzas ~ I make mine in a Pampered Chef large bar pan, you could also use a non-stick baking sheet, or if you have a proper pizza pan you could use that too.

You can make the dough the night before, wrap it in saran wrap and refrigerate, or you can make it before dinner (I have found that this dough doesn’t really need time to rise).  Throw all of your favorite fixings on it and you have a meal that the whole family loves!

Here is the recipe:

(remember this is doubled!)

3 1/2 Cups Flour

3 tsp instant yeast

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 1/2 tsp oregano

1 1/2 tsp basil

1 tsp rosemary

Mix all of your dry ingredients together and pour them into your mason jar. Now print off this free gift tag: Pizza Mix Labels and decorate your gift!

Here are the instructions to make the dough:

~ Mix 1 3/4 cups dry mix with 1 1/2 tbsp oil and 2/3 cups warm water.  Mix, and then knead by hand until dough forms a ball ~ it should not be overly sticky.  Roll the mix into a pan (non-stick cookie sheet or pizza pan) and cover with your favorite toppings.

  Bake in oven at 375 f for 30 mins ~ or until cheese is bubbly and crust turns lightly golden, and enjoy!   Here is my favorite veggie pizza:  Mix two cloves of minced garlic with 3 tbsp of olive oil.  Brush it over your crust.  Use Kraft Italian blend shredded cheese and spread 1/2 cup over pizza.  Slice zucchini, red onion, roma tomato, and mushroom ~ place liberally over pizza.  Cover the pizza with another 1 1/2 cups of cheese, and bake!

And there you have it!  A great gift for a busy family, it also promotes quality family time ~ get a variety of your children’s favorite toppings and let them create their own meal!

Thank you for stopping by today!

Lisa K

2 Responses to “Day 10~ Dry Mix Pizza Dough”

  1. Jody November 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    This has become our family favorite pizza! Light, tasty and everyone gets what toppings they choose. Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Disney Family Fun Nights | Sweet Benanna&Sam - March 26, 2013

    […] nothing says Toy Story like eating Pizza planet pizza.  I used a recipe from Lisa’s blog titled Dry Mix Pizza Dough .   My son and daughter helped but all the ingredients together and we rolled out the pizza dough […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

