Day 7~ Upcycled Festive Turtleneck

21 Nov

Onto day 7 ~ almost halfway through this series.  I really hope you are finding some great Christmas gift ideas!  Today I wanted to show you something really easy to make for little girls, and there is also an easy boy project at the end (because there are never enough of those!).

Today’s ad sponsor is My Childhood Treasures.  They sell some beautiful children’s pdf sewing patterns.  If you have had a good look around my blog, you may have seen my “Sweet Little Red” post.  Sweet Little Red’s hooded cape was made using “The Maisie” pattern from My Childhood Treasures ~ so I can tell you from experience that her patterns arrive quickly, are easy to follow, and look beautiful when finished (My Childhood Treasures is also going to be participating in our Giveaway on November 30th!!) Click on the banner below to visit My Childhood Treasures on Etsy!

Every year I scour the department stores to try and find coordinating outfits so that my children will match in our Christmas pictures.  I am not sure why I didn’t think of this idea before now.  This year I got them plain white turtlenecks, and I am using matching fabric to make them fancier and add some accessories.  So much easier ~ and very inexpensive!  I also thought that this idea would make a great little gift for a girl.  You can make the turtleneck into a ruffly shirt, or a double layer dress.  I will show you how to do both of those, plus I have a really easy no-sew applique Christmas onesie idea for boys at the end of this post.

Supplies

Plain turtleneck – you can pick these up cheap at Wal-Mart or the one I got was from Superstore (I liked that the sleeves were a little puffy, gives it a girly touch!)

Scrap fabric for applique

One fat quarter of Christmas-y fabric

Stitch Witchery (double sided fusible interfacing) or heat n bond.

Fun embellishments (I had some green sparkly elasticized sequins, and somesilver ribbon elastic ribbon)

Sewing machine and basic sewing supplies

First we are going to start with the Christmas ornament applique.  I traced around the bottom of a large coffee mug onto a piece of paper to make sure I had a nice round shape.  Then I pinned the circle to some nice red satin fabric and cut out the circle.  I also cut out the same size circle from my double sided fusible interfacing (or heat n bond).  I also cut out a little trapezoid shaped piece out of grey chevron fabric for the top of the ornament, and again I cut out the same size piece from my fusible interfacing.

Next I decorated my piece of red satin, I used some fabri-tac to adhere my green sequins.  I then stitched them down.  You could really decorate your ornament however you like, ric-rac, beads, anything nice and sparkly!  Next I cut a piece of the silver elastic, about 4 inches long.  I folded it in half and glued it to the back of the fabric piece that was going to be used for the top of the ornament.

Then take both of these ornament pieces and your turtleneck to the ironing board.  First you are going to fuse the round ornament piece to your shirt.  Use either your round fusible interfacing or your heat n bond to do this.  Decide where to place your ornament before fusing, it’s kind of hard to change your mind later!!  Next position the top piece of your ornament where you would like it to go and fuse that into place.  Now that you have your ornament in place, you need to go back to your sewing machine.  Use a tight zig-zag stitch to stitch around the ornament, make sure you go all the way around your circle, and around all four sides of the top ornament piece.

Doesn’t it look so pretty and festive?

The only thing left to do is add a ruffle at the bottom.  Measure the bottom of your shirt, cut a strip of fabric that is 2 1/2″ wide and 4 times the width of your shirt.  My fabric was 42″ long, so I just used the width of the fabric, but if you are using a fat quarter you may have to sew two strips together.

Sew a zig-zag stitch down both of the long sides of your fabric strip.  Next, fold the strip in half lengthwise, with right sides together.  Sew the ends of the strip together with a 1/2″ seam allowance; zig-zag stitch down the edge of your seam.

 Now take this strip to the ironing board and press your seam flat.  Fold over one of your zig-zagged edges 1/2″ to the wrong side and press with your iron.

 You are now going to sew that folded edge into place. Sew all the way around the strip to secure the folded edge down.  Now you need to sew a gathering stitch around the other edge ~ the edge that ONLY has the zig-zag stitch, not the side that you just folded over!  Sew your gathering stitch and make sure that the width is now the same as the width of the bottom of your turtlenec.   Take your piece of fabric and pin the gathered edge to the turtle neck.  You are going to pin it 1/2″ from the bottom of the turtleneck, right sides together.   Sew it into place, I like to stitch it just below the gathering stitch.  Trim all of your threads and press your ruffle down with your iron, and it is done!

I want to also show you the dress version that I did for my daughter.  I used two coordinating Christmas fabrics.  Instead of making the ruffle strip 2 1/2″ wide, I made two strips that were both 8″ wide (you would just need to measure how long you want the dress to be and adjust your width accordingly).  The first fabric strip I sewed it 1 1/2″ from the bottom of the turtleneck, and the second fabric strip was sewn 1/2″ from the bottom ~ instant two-tiered turtleneck dress!

Man it’s hard to catch good pictures of this girl!!

The last idea is super simple, does not even require a sewing machine!  Get some scrap fabric, heat n bond ULTRA, a Christmas cookie cutter, a marker, and a onesie.

Iron your scrap fabric onto a piece of Heat N Bond ULTRA.  Flip your fabric piece over, place the cookie cutter onto the heat n bond side and trace around the outside with your marker.  Cut out your design and then peel off your applique backing.  Press it to the onesie with your iron – if you use heat n bond ultra, you do not have to sew it to the onesie!

That’s it! What a cute baby gift!  Here are all three, I hope you have enjoyed this post!

Thank you again!

~Lisa K

I love to hear your sweet comments!

