Day 3: Easy Sew Double-Sided Headbands

17 Nov

Moving on to day 3 of 15 Days of Handmade Gifts, I hope you have enjoyed the first couple of easy DIY gift tutorials!  For day 3 I am going to share with you my method of sewing headbands.  These make great stocking stuffers for little girls.  They are good gifts for friends, sisters, cousins, etc..!

Today’s sponsor is Raspberry Creek Fabrics ~ they have a beautiful selection of fabric in their shop (a lot of my very favorite prints!!) they will also be taking part in our giveaway at the end of this series. Click on the banner or the link below to pay them a visit!

Raspberry Creek Fabrics is the source for fresh fun designer fabrics. I get several new collections in each month, so continually stopping by the shop is a must. I try to carry as much boy fabric as I can, super cute boy fabric is sometimes hard to come by. Visit my Etsy shop here: Raspberry Creek Fabrics and trims

A great friend of mine did a wonderful favor for me last week and I wanted to make her a little gift to show her my appreciation.  This friend loves to wear headbands, so it was fairly easy to figure out what to make her.  I know there are lots of great tutorials out there on how to sew headbands, but I have my own easy sew method that I really want to share with you.  I really like quick projects that I can complete in one evening while my children are asleep, this is why I developed this method.  Most of the instructions I have seen will have you sew your headband with right sides together and then turn it right side out.  This is going to sound really picky, but I don’t like having to do this.  It takes too much time, and then there is often hand-stitching involved.  Using my method, I can whip up a couple of these babies in 45 minutes or less, start to finish.  I have even included free patterns to make it extra easy ~ in toddler, child, and adult sizes.

Supplies

First Print out whichever size pattern you will be using: Adult Size (fits 22-23.5″ heads)  Child Size (fits 20.5-21.5″ heads)  Toddler Size (fits 18.5-20″ heads)

You will also need:

~Scrap fabric (I used some nice Riley Blake quilting cotton)

~ 1/2″ elastic

~Thread

~Sewing Machine and basic sewing supplies

Pick two pieces of scrap fabric that coordinate with each other.  Cut out one main headband piece (on the fold), and one casing piece, in EACH of the two fabric prints you have chosen.

Take your two fabric main headband pieces and lay them one on top of the other, right sides together.

Pin ONE of the long sides together and sew down that side (on ONE side only) use a 1/4″ seam allowance.

  Now open up your headband and press the seam flat.  Fold over the short sides 1/4″ to the wrong side and press well with your iron.  Now fold over each of the un-sewn long sides 1/4″ to the wrong side; press well again.  Next you are going to fold your headband in half so that the right sides are facing out.  Press with your iron, make sure that your un-sewn long edges match up nicely (I always just eye-ball it when I am folding the long edges over 1/4″ and pressing them, I haven’t had any problems doing it this way)

  Take your headband back to the sewing machine.  Pin together the open long side of the headband, then edge stitch down that long side.  Edge stitch down the other long side as well to make it look nice.

Next we are going to sew the elastic casing piece.  You are going to sew it just like you did with the main headband piece.  Put the two casing pieces right sides together, and sew down one of the long sides.  Press the seam open, but this time you do not have to fold over the short ends.  Instead you are going to fold over each of the long ends 1/2″ towards the wrong side (so fold it over a little more than you did with the main piece, this will ensure that the ends of the casing can fit inside the main piece) Fold the casing in half and press.   It is a good idea to check that the casing will fit inside the end of the headband piece before you try and sew it together!  If it does, edge stitch down the open side of the casing piece.  Don’t worry about edge stitching down the other side, this piece of fabric will be scrunched up so you won’t see the stitching.

Measure the length of your casing piece.  Cut a piece of elastic that is HALF the length of your casing, PLUS one inch…so if your casing piece is 8 inches long, your elastic will be 4″+1″ = 5″ total.  Attach a safety pin to one side of your elastic and thread it through the casing.  Leave a little piece of elastic sticking out on one edge; sew the edge closed 1/4″ from the edge, securing the elastic into place. (See picture, sew along the dotted line.  Pull the safety pin/elastic the rest of the way through the casing and again sew that short end closed.

Remove the safety pin!  Insert one end of the casing into the main piece of your headband; stitch it into place.  Sew close to the end of the headband piece (See picture, sew along the red dotted line)

  Repeat this step with the other end of the casing and your headband is finished!

So easy, right?  I wanted to also show you a couple of variations to dress it up a bit.

Here is one that I added ric-rac to:

There are only a couple of additional steps to make this one. I am just going to tell you the differences from the main tutorial, so you will still have to read that if you want to make it.   Extra supplies: Ric-Rac and Fabri-Tac (fabric glue)  Cut two pieces of ric-rac that are the length of your main headband piece, minus 1/4″ inch on each end:  When you pin your two main headband pieces together, sandwich one of the ric-rac pieces between them.  Make sure a bit of the ric-rac is poking out the top, also make sure to leave 1/4″ space at the ends (remember you will be ironing the ends over so there can’t be any ric-rac in the way) After you have sewn it, and pressed the short and long edges with your iron, put a strip of fabri-tac down one of the folded long edges. Stick the other piece of ric-rac to the glue to secure it in place.  Make sure that there is as much ric-rac sticking out of the side as there is on the side that you have already sewn into place.  Now fold in half and do your edge stitching.  Follow the rest of the original steps to finish.

Here is one other variation, this one I used a nice fuzzy minky for one side of the headband ~ now you have some cozy ear warmers instead of just a headband.

Thank you again for stopping by today, I hope you have enjoyed this little sewing tutorial.  Don’t forget to come back tomorrow – we have a great guest post from Jill of Create.Craft.Love!

~Lisa K

5 Responses to “Day 3: Easy Sew Double-Sided Headbands”

  1. Rachel @ I Love My Disorganized Life November 19, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    So adorable! I may need to make some for my grand daughters.

  2. Julie D November 25, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing! I like your more simplistic method. I couldn’t print the patterns. It would ask me to save/open the document, but then fail to do so. Any suggestions?

    • sweetlisak November 26, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Hi Julie, thanks for your comment ~ I just clicked on my link and tried to print the template and didn’t have a problem so I’m not quite sure what to suggest, it did not ask me to save or open the document. If you would like, I can e-mail you and attach a copy of the document, maybe that would help? Let me know which one you were trying to print off, my e-mail is kraiger5@me.com. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Treats and Swanky Stuff Saturday - Something Swanky - November 24, 2012

    […] Easy Sew Double-Sided Headbands by Sweet Benanna & Sam […]

  2. Happy New Year! ~ The Best of 2012~ « Sweet Benanna&Sam - January 1, 2013

    […] 3. Easy Sew Double Sided Headbands […]

I love to hear your sweet comments!

