Sweet Apple of My Eye ~ Coat Tutorial and Free Pattern

1 Nov



Well I had meant to design a couple of coats for fall, and now there is snow on the ground and my fall coat project is finally finished.  Oh well ~ I had a couple of unexpected custom orders which took some time (but I can’t complain about that!)  This was not an easy task for me though.  I can’t tell you how many times I altered the pattern and cut everything apart before I finally got it perfect.  Well, it’s perfect in my eyes.  I love with this sweet little coat!  It has such nice girly details ~ like a darling scallop collar.  The bottom portion is gathered to give it a nice feminine flare.  Of course the fabric is just charming ~ Apple of My Eye by The Quilted Fish for Riley Blake Designs.  For the main fabric I used Blue Apple of My Eye Basket and for the lining fabric I used Pink Apple of My Eye Stripe.  The gorgeous little handmade linen covered buttons are from my favorite button shop on Etsy.  Really, go check it out, I am hooked on these buttons! Here is a link: Cute Village .  And of course the coat wouldn’t be nearly as cute without the adorable model, thank you Miss.E!

Are you ready to make your own “Sweet Apple of My Eye Coat?”.   I have prepared a tutorial and a pattern in 24 month size to share with you.  The coat pictured in this tutorial is actually a size 6, but I find it much easier to scan the smaller patterns. If this tutorial is popular and there is lots of demand for other sizes I might add more, so feel free to leave your comments!  Or maybe you like this coat but aren’t in the mood for a sewing project, you might just be in luck.  I have also made ONE for my Etsy shop in size 6, first come first serve!  Here is the link: Sweet Apple of My Eye Coat.

All right, let’s get going on the tutorial.  First of all you need to print off the pattern and cut all of your pieces.  There are four pieces to this pattern, and I apologize you do have to click each one separately to print it.  I have not found a better way to make my patterns available yet (if you are a blogger and have any suggestions for me, I would greatly appreciate it!) When you are printing these, if there is a box that says “Fit to page” make sure that it IS clicked Here is the pattern:

Collar~Apple of My Eye 24 Month Size

Back Coat~Apple of My Eye 24 Month Size

Front Coat~Apple of My Eye 24 Month Size

Sleeve~Apple of My Eye 24 Month Size

Supplies for 24 Month Size
~1.5 yards of main fabric 
~1 yard of lining fabric
~thread
~scrap interfacing
~sewing machine and basic sewing supplies
~16 inches of bias tape
~3 buttons (mine are 1 inch buttons)
Here we go, I am going to try to do most of the instructions in pictures:
 
 
Okay let’s get to the bottom part of the coat.  I apparently didn’t take a picture of this next step, but I promise it’s not too hard!  Take your large piece of main fabric (10″x40″).  Fold it in half, lengthwise, with right sides together.  Pin the SHORT ends together and sew each of those ends with a 1/2″ seam.  Turn your piece of fabric right side out and press it with your iron.
 

Now flip your long strip down and press with your iron.  The strip will be right side facing up.  You should have a nice invisible seam  where the strip was sewn to the coat.  The long side of the strip that you previously ironed should be sitting right at the seam where you attached the bottom piece to the coat.  Basically it should look like the picture above.  DO NOT sew down the bottom piece of the strip, this will be taken care of in a moment!

If you have not worked with bias tape before, here are some handy instructions to follow: How to sew bias tape
 
Thank you for reading my blog, I hope you enjoyed this post!  As always I would love to hear your comments and feedback.
 
~Lisa. K
 
 
3 Responses to “Sweet Apple of My Eye ~ Coat Tutorial and Free Pattern”

  1. stirandstitch November 1, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    what a sweet coat! how nice of you to take the time to share such a great pattern, thanks 🙂

  2. dramaqueenseams November 2, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Such a sweet little coat… My daughter is going to love it! Thanks for the pattern.

  3. Jill @ Create.Craft.Love. November 6, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    OMG! That is darling! Love the fabric! Thanks for stopping by the CHQ blog hop! Hope to see you back next week!

I love to hear your sweet comments!

