Fall-Off-The-Bone Moist Turkey ~ with Bacon too!

11 Oct

My husband is not a turkey guy, but I always insist on making it at Thanksgiving because it is a tradition.  This year was no exception.  My husband did not argue with the dinner choice,  although he had two requests for me.  One was that he wanted the turkey to taste like bacon.  The second was that he wanted it to be a really moist turkey.  As luck would have it, a friend of mine shared one of her family secret recipes with me the day before Thanksgiving.  She told me, “Once you try this, you will never cook turkey any other way- it is the best!”  That was good enough for me.  I did try her cooking method, and I added my own seasoning and a “bacon weave”.  I have to tell you, she was right!  It was so delicious and moist.  We didn’t even really have to carve the turkey because the meat just fell off the bone.

I will share the cooking method with you, as well as the seasoning I used (you can actually use any kind of seasoning you like, it’s the cooking method that makes the turkey so moist), plus if I blog about it I can remember next year how I cooked the most delicious turkey ever!

Ingredients:

Turkey (whatever size you like)

Bacon (8-10 slices)

1/2 Cup butter

Seasoning Salt

Poultry Seasoning

Pepper

Kettle of boiling water

Remove giblets and wash your turkey.  If you are going to stuff it then go ahead and do that first.  Lay your turkey in the roasting pan with the breast side up.  Preheat your oven to 450 F.   Cut up your butter into small pieces and place the pieces all over your turkey.  Season well with seasoning salt, poultry seasoning and pepper.  Next you are going to create a little “net” of bacon to go over your turkey.  Lay out a piece of tin foil and put three strips of bacon on top of it.  Lay them vertically with about 1 1/2 inches between each one.  Now you are going to weave  five strips of bacon through those three pieces.    Take your tinfoil and bacon, and turn it over on top of the turkey so that the bacon is covering most of it.Boil a kettle full of water (about 1-1 1/2 litres) and pour it over top of the turkey.  Quickly seal it all in with a few sheets of tinfoil (it’s a good idea to have the tinfoil ready before the water boils)  Put your turkey in the oven.  Cooking times will vary depending on the size of your turkey and whether you have stuffed it or not, but this is very important: for the last 45 minutes of cooking time, reduce your oven temperature to 350 f, and take the tinfoil off the top of your turkey.  This will brown up your bird.

Here is a very helpful link to determine how long you should cook your turkey:  Turkey Cooking times

And using my turkey for an example, here is what I did:

My turkey was 8 lbs and un-stuffed.  I cooked it for 2 hours and 15 minutes, covered with the tinfoil at 450f.  Then I removed the tinfoil, turned the temperature down to 350 f and cooked it for another 45 minutes.  Again I want to mention ~ if you are not crazy about bacon, leave it off, use whatever spices you like.  The boiling water method, and covering your turkey with the tinfoil is the important part.

I kid you not, I will never cook turkey any other way, it was delicious and so moist!  The drippings also made awesome gravy.   Best of all, my husband totally approved, we also ate leftovers the next day and he said it tasted even better.   Thanks for stopping by!

~Lisa K

I love to hear your sweet comments!

